h1

The Meloncress

April 26, 2012

I’m not a huge fan of store bought flavored vodkas but I have to admit, Absolut manages to produce a few damn good ones. A while back I stumbled upon their Absolut New Orleans which touted a mango and black pepper infusion. To my surprise, it was delicious. Even on it’s own, where flavored vodkas often suffer from a cloying or artificial flavor profile, this blend was really drinkable. Now if they really had wanted to impress me they would have made their New Orleans inspired vodka infused with wood-fired oysters and muffalettas, but beggars can’t be choosers.

It was this sweet and peppery profile that had me buzzing last night to make up this new cocktail for you guys. Originally I picked up this fresh cantaloupe and a head of watercress for some good old fashioned eating, but when I realized I still had my hand’s on fellow Nobler, Mark’s juicer I got to work. Watercress has an unbelievably delicious peppery bite and compared to related greens like mustard, their flavor is a bit lighter making them perfect for cocktail pairing. The ripe sweetness of the cantaloupe blends perfectly with the watercress and with a little citrus to bring it all together, this new guy is a definite winner. I paired the juice with Cachaça, a Brazilian spirit distilled from fresh sugarcane juice. You might be familiar with it as it is used in the very popular Caipirinha, or maybe from one of my original posts, the Clear and Sunny. Meloncress, I officially welcome you to the Juice Bar team.

The Meloncress

2 oz Cachaça

4 oz Melon and Watercress Juice

1 Splash Seltzer

Mix the first two ingredients together and pour over a highball glass with ice. Finish off with a splash of seltzer and a few watercress leaves for garnish.

Melon and Watercress Juice

1/2 Ripe Cantaloupe

2 Heads of Watercress (a few leaves reserved for garnish)

Juice of 1 Lime

Using a juicer, juice the peeled and chopped cantaloupe and reserve the juice. Juice the watercress into a second container. Squeeze the lime juice into the watercress liquid and then add the juice from the cantaloupe. Keep chilled and mix well before using.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 158 other followers

