h1

One of the Brews Brothers…

November 21, 2011

A few weeks back I posted about my growing desire to brew my own beer. Not so much so that I could become some great brew master, but more because I was curious as hell to see how the process went. Well, after brewing 5 gallons each of American Pale Ale and an Indian Pale Ale yesterday, I can truly say, it’s pretty damn awesome.

These brew kits make the process incredibly straight forward. If you follow the instructions, you should end up with a decent product in the end. That being said, much like folks describe baking, there isn’t much room for error. Time and temperature seem to be the two most important factors which is why I’d say it’s definitely at least a two man job. My partner in crime yesterday, Larry Gordon, had brewed his own beer a few years back which made all the difference in getting it done without any major issues (we think). We now have close to 120 bottles worth of beer fermenting away to be bottled and to be potentially even ready for Christmas.

I’m pumped to see how they turn out and share our brews with everyone…bottling and labels to come next!

Leave a Reply

