h1

Feeling Awfully Piratey

January 9, 2012

I was fishing around for some DIY liquor projects late last week and I found this recipe for a homemade coffee liqueur. Since coffee tends to turn me into an annoying epic story-teller, the combination with rum has to be good for everyone involved. But when I sent the link to another coffee loving Nobler, he mentioned working on a home spiced rum and that got me thinking. So with an excess of some basic silver rums sitting in my cabinet, I decided to give this one a shot. My perspective? Leave work, go home, do this now!

I’ve discussed extracting flavors into alcohol before (here), so I took a very similar approach for my homemade spiced rum. Immediately apples and cinnamon came to mind but I really wanted the flavors to be a bit more complex. I took a quick inventory of what I had in my spice collection and it seemed like I had been preparing for this all along. Cardamom, vanilla, and lemon peel to play off of the apples and cinnamon, bay leaves and Sichuan peppercorns for some real deal complexity. If you haven’t worked with Sichuan peppercorns before, they are the pink looking buds that are more numbing than spicy. Awesome.

As for the process, I toasted up the dried spices to bring out a bit of their oils before adding them to the peeled and halved apples, the lemon peel, and vanilla pods. After topping it all off with the silver rum, I figured it would take a few days to develop some real flavor. But even after a few hours an amber hue could be seen and the flavors were already fantastic. A few more days, and I can only imagine how good this will be. ..

One comment

  1. […] 1 heavy splash of spiced rum (homemade here) […]



Leave a Reply

