h1

The Madras and Makers

January 25, 2012

I took a trip to Kalustyan’s on my way home yesterday looking to score some of the key components for my home-made bitters project. While I was unable to find the quassia chips, I did end up with the gentian root I needed which so lovingly markets it’s ability to “clear the bowel movement” front and center. I’ve always known bitters to be a good digestive aid, but I guess I now know why.

But you can’t walk out of Kalustyan’s with only the items on your list. So when I opened up my bag to unload the palm sugar, madras curry powder, and garam masala for the curry dish I was planning on cooking up, this savory cocktail hit me right over the head!

It may sound odd but the flavors of the curry balance absurdly well with the whiskey. And the brightness from the lime and the heat of the chili carry the palm sugar sweetness fantastically. Next time you are in the mood for Indian grub, go BYO, and bring yourself a pitcher of these.

The Madras and Makers:

3 oz bourbon (Makers Mark if you like the cocktail’s name)

2 oz curry infused lime juice

1 splash of seltzer

To make the curry infused lime juice, add and stir 1 tsp of curry powder, 1 tsp of dried chili flakes, and 1 tbsp of palm sugar in the juice of one lime over low heat til thoroughly dissolved. (This recipe can be easily made in larger portions following the basic recipe) Mix the whiskey, and juice in a rocks glass with ice and finish with a splash of seltzer. Garnish with a sliced date or apricot. Awesome paired with some spicy Indian food.

2 comments

  1. “I took a trip to Kalustyan’s on my way home yesterday looking to score some of the key components for my home-made bitters project. While I was unable to find the quassia chips, I did end up with the gentian root I needed.”

    Did you think you were going to get away with saying that without us making fun of you?


  2. I’d love to know who the “us” you refer to is?



Leave a Reply

