h1

Taking Back the Angel’s Share

March 12, 2012

Some of the last few posts have focused on the emergence of small batch American whiskey distilleries and the potential industry landscape that could develop over the next few decades. One of the major hurdles (in any industry) for small players, is the powerful marketing behind the big guns. Case in point: Jim Beam’s soon to be new selection in their vast whiskey portfolio, the Devil’s Cut.

The angle: While bourbon ages, a portion of the alcohol is lost as the oak barrels act as vessel for flavor exchange. This portion, often dubbed, “The Angel’s Share”, is a key piece to the aging process. This aging process is what gives bourbon (and all whiskey) that gorgeous color and smoothness (when done well) that we all love so much. But it is the Devil’s Cut that manages to steal back what is rightfully ours. Screw you, angels! Oh, crap. I’m sorry about that. The commercial showing how many underground bars I’ll magically discover, filled with women, thrilled to see me, must be getting to my head…

But in all honesty, despite the cheesy marketing angle (which I can only assume was designed to target my little brother), I am interested in giving this a full shot. If for nothing else it will be a great way to explore the detailed effects of barrel aging. I’m looking forward to a future Nobler Gathering in which the Devil’s Cut can follow a bottle of moonshine in an event I will have to call “whiskeys I feel guilty about purchasing”. It sounds like it won’t be fully released until this summer but at a suggested retail price of only $23.99, you can also understand how the big distillery conglomerates have a huge leg up. Any advanced reviewers out there with any thoughts on the matter?

2 comments

  1. […] few months back, I posted on the emergence of Jim Beam’s new Bourbon brand, The Devil’s Cut. I poked fun of the cheesy marketing angle spinning a relatively simple concept, extraction of the […]


  2. […] few months back, I posted on the emergence of Jim Beam’s new Bourbon brand, The Devil’s Cut. I poked fun of the cheesy marketing angle spinning a relatively simple concept, extraction of the […]



Leave a Reply

