h1

Old Tom Fashioned

March 27, 2012

Happy World Whisky Day everyone! I’m looking forward to celebrating later tonight which at the moment seems way too far away…

But in the classification of “confusing and delicious” I stumbled upon something I couldn’t leave on the shelves this past weekend. As I was perusing the aisles of Warehouse Liquor (an activity I find myself doing rather frequently these days), I was taken at the blip of brown in the midst of clear gin. As a quick side note, I’m still completely blown away by the number of vodka and gin options there are at this point. I wouldn’t even know where to start. So it was certainly nice that this bottle of Old Tom Gin made the decision easy for me.

As a reference back to an 1800s style liquor, this Ransom Old Tom Gin is actually barrel aged for a short time period. Not unlike the Linie Aquavit, this relatively short aging process helps develop a significant smoothness and baseline of flavor for the otherwise alcohol forward liquor. After doing a bit more digging online, the Ransom continued to tug at my heart strings.

The use of corn based liquors for the botanical flavorings renders Ransom a slightly bourbon-like quality that works perfectly in cocktails. In addition, the use of a malted barley mash is more whisky than gin. So naturally, I went straight to my go-to Old Fashioned and found a really unique flavor profile that I’m excited to keep working with. If only everything could be slightly barrel aged and taste more like bourbon. I’d be putting all sorts of stuff in barrels!

Any Ransom lovers out there?

Old Tom Fashioned

1 sugar cube

2-4 dashes of angostura bitters

1 tsp water

3 oz Ransom Old Tom Gin

In a rocks glass or whisky glass, muddle the sugar, bitters and water until well mixed. Add the Ransom and one ice cube. Drink like its 1799.

One comment

  1. My husband just tried Ransom last night and said it was really interesting. I can’t wait to try it!



Leave a Reply

