h1

The Dark and Stormy

May 17, 2012

Probably close to 5 years ago, my life coach, Sarah Gordon started talking about something called a Dark and Stormy. Up until this point, I had never heard of it. These were the days prior to nostalgic picture filters and rapid posting, but I still remember catching a glimpse of that drink perched on that cozy Martha’s Vineyard bar next to an order of steamers. It must have been on my flip phone…

To me, the Dark and Stormy is another one of those drinks with serious personality. You aren’t going up to every bartender on any occasion and requesting this delicious concoction. Instead, there is a right time and a right place. Unlike my “clear and sunny” that has an overall pleasant demeanor, the Dark and Stormy has a bit of an attitude. I prefer mine to be heavy on the gingery bite and garnished with a little lime to cut the sweetness. A dark rum with some character only makes this drink better, and honestly, if you haven’t had one, I’ve got a good place for you to start.

The Great Jones Cafe on (you guessed it) Great Jones St has always been one of my favorite spots. Nothing can beat the actual food from New Orleans, but these guys are pumping out fantastic gumbo, po’ boys, and jambalaya and pairing it all with a great beer list and a really chill atmosphere. I actually ate brunch here for the first time not too long ago and can’t understand why it took me so long. Eggs and Jambalaya? Are you kidding me! But this isn’t that old food blog of mine, now is it….

The second I saw that Dark and Stormy (dubbed the Shaggy here), I knew it was going to be that kind of night. But the kicker here is that I had finally thought I found the perfect ginger beer for this cocktail. Reed’s Extra Ginger Brew has a serious bite to it and isn’t cloyingly sweet making it perfect. But this Blenheim Ginger Ale, the Great Jones Cafe is using, may have just out gingered the Extra Ginger. According to their website, Great Jones may be the only place that has this stuff in the city…is this possible? Good thing they sell it online!

As for the recipe, not much to explain here making it even better for your new favorite mid-week cocktail.

The Dark and Stormy

2 oz Dark rum

3 oz Ginger Beer or Bleinheim’s Ginger Ale

1 good-sized lime wedge

Pour the rum and ginger beer over a tall glass with ice and garnish with the squeezed lime. Drink slowly and enjoy the attitude!

One comment

  1. my favorite summer drink. ever.



Leave a Reply

