h1

Anyone Need a Margarita?

May 31, 2012

At least 5% of my brain is constantly occupied with cocktail creation. Sometimes a name will come first and the ingredients simply follow, like the “Aspagrass” soon to be debuted. And in other cases, the drink is truly inspired by what’s delicious. But no matter how much I enjoy the art of drink making (I call making cocktails art because I suck at drawing), sometimes all you want is something simple. And today I want a damn margarita!

I’m here to plead with you. You, the person stocking up on margarita mix surely having something to do with Jimmy Buffett. The guy is a marketing genius, but you don’t need that clown to make yourself the perfect margarita. And in fact, you don’t need very much at all. I’ve tried tinkering with my own recipe here and there, but this unbelievably simple version I stole from the one and only Nancy Gordon, is damn near perfect. So while I won’t try to compete with her margarita making prowess, I’m offering up my slight twist on the classic lime margarita with the equally refreshing, slightly less ass-kicking grapefruit variety. Just like in the case of Nancy’s recipe, fresh squeezed juice is ideal but for my grapefruit version a high quality store-bought juice will do the trick. Plus it makes it easier to make a big batch for your next bbq. You can thank us later for never having to buy a pre-made mix again. Actually, you know what , you better thank us now, before you have too many of these and forget. Enjoy!

Classic Margarita

2 oz tequila (I prefer a good reposado)

1 oz cointreau or triple sec

Juice of half a lime

1 lime wedge

In a glass filled with shaved or crushed ice add and stir vigorously all of the ingredients. Garnish with a lime wedge and delete any and all Jimmy Buffett from your iPod.

Grapefruit Margarita

3 oz grapefruit juice (reposado or silver work well with this one)

2 oz tequila

1 oz cointreau of triple sec

1 lime wedge

In a glass filled with ice, add all of the ingredients and stir to mix. Garnish with a lime and enjoy! This one is obviously a little less strong so feel free to have a few more!

 

Leave a Reply

