h1

Arak and Yogurt

July 16, 2012

I just had one of the more interesting cocktails of my life…

Midway through one of the more delicious meals I’ve had, in possibly the most unique city in the world, Jerusalem, out came 5 shot glasses full of a sort of cloudy looking concoction. My naive brain immediately assumed coconut water but I wasn’t even close. Arak and Yogurt is like the Arabian pickle back but with some serious class. Is that offensive?

But anyway, the reason I compare it to the pickle back is that the same principles apply (at least in terms of flavors). The tangy yogurt (in this case I believe it was watered down) cuts the alcohol in the Arak but pairs perfectly with the Anise flavor which isn’t normally my favorite. I’d have a million of these if I could. So damn good.

And the Arak story only gets more interesting. I was doing some research before I posted and the spirit has a really unique characteristic. That cloudiness wasn’t only from the yogurt itself but rather the anise essential oil, anethole, which is soluble (dissolves in) alcohol but not in water. Chemistry and booze! Two of my favorite things!

I think I may bring a bottle of this back to the states to mess around with further. Any Arak drinkers out there?

 

Leave a Reply

