h1

Don’t Smell the Cork

July 24, 2012

I may often paint my fellow Noblers as booze-fiending, loyal followers of the experiment but…Well that’s true. However, some of them can write…

Hi Noblers, my name’s Adam. I’m a wine geek, and from time to time Ricky has graciously allowed me to divert this blog from the beer and booze posts (both things I love too) and talk about my favorite Alcohol, wine.  My goal with these posts is going to be to prove to all of you that wine doesn’t have to be snobby; it’s actually incredibly fun and easy to enjoy.  We’re gonna talk about ordering wine, regions, screwcaps, boxed wine and making sangria.  I’m going to debunk some myths, hopefully open your eyes to wines you’ve never had before, and help you find affordable bottles you will love. I’d also love to hear what questions you have about ordering, buying and enjoying wine, so please leave them in the comments.  Wine has been around for centuries so as we learn about this amazing Juice together, we’ll also learn a lot about our own history too.

Since this is my intro post I’m not going to overwhelm you with tons of jargon and info yet; that’s for later! But I do want to leave you with one nugget of knowledge…when you order wine at a restaurant and the waiter presents you with the cork, DON’T SMELL IT.  You actually learn nothing about a wine from smelling the cork but most waiters have no idea why they are presenting you with the cork and diners have no idea what they are supposed to do with it.  Being presented with the cork comes from the history of Bordeaux.  Since Bordeaux is one of the most expensive regions of wines in the world, people used to counterfeit the bottles, faking the labels to look like the famous chateaus that sold their wines for hundreds and even thousands of dollars.  The thought was that the one thing that would be hard to fake would be the unique inscription on the cork of the legitimate chateaus, so when a waiter presents you the cork, he or she is just really honoring an old tradition of checking to see if the bottle you bought is the real bottle.
 
That’s all for now, see you all soon!
-Adam
One comment

  1. […] Phew, that felt good. Been needing to get that off my chest for sometime now and I know that I can trust you guys. Don’t spread this around too much, okay? And definitely don’t tell Adam about it… […]



Leave a Reply

