h1

The Real American Industry Resurgence

August 8, 2012

Sorry for the lack of posting the last week or so but don’t worry, after this coming weekend, my favorite of every year, I’m sure to be back on the posting wagon. And I should probably get on the other wagon as well after we demolish some Cow Thieves…but more on that later.

Tonight is the first Nobler Gathering in some time as this summer has been a nightmare for scheduling. The “team” is heading over to Kings Co. Distillery for a little tour and tasting and it’s not at all shocking that we are psyched to get back together over some local bourbon. But it was the tweet, or should I say re-tweet by the Kings Co. folks that got me thinking this morning…

And yes, you can follow my Nobler Experimenting here…

The following is a reminder of just how exciting the world of American liquor is right now:

“In 1800, the US had 14,000 (mostly small) distilleries. In 1900: 700. After prohibition: 12. Today: 200.” – @Foodista

Think about that (I didn’t check that it’s 100% accurate but considering it was on Twitter, I didn’t think that was necessary). I’m not a financial analyst, a politician, or a whosamawhatzit, but you have to love this resurgence of American Industry. I’m not entirely sure what the hell 14,000 distilleries were doing in 1800, but as the micro or small batch distillery movement continues, I’m excited to take part in tasting it all!

Check in tomorrow for a Kings Co. post and if we’re lucky, a little wine knowledge by Nobler Adam by weeks end…

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

