h1

The Orchard

October 4, 2012

I have a tumultuous past with Apple Juice. I think as a young kid I really loved the stuff but then there was this one incident involving a not so well timed juice box, and an in hockey game throw up, and let’s just say, I haven’t been a huge fan since. (It really is amazing how strong the brain holds on to traumatic memories.) Yet, over the past few years, I’ve started enjoying the greatness that is cider, particularly for cocktail making. In fact, one of my original posts highlighted the great combination of bourbon and cider. But last night, with a handful of apples in tow, it seemed like the perfect opportunity to re-visit my past with apple juice, by making it myself…

I still haven’t purchased a juicer, which makes my juice making a bit more challenging, but I’ve learned a good food processor and a strainer isn’t too bad of a proxy. By blending the apples with a little lemon, water, and honey, the natural sweetness and appleness is preserved but a much more mixable blend can be created. In all honesty, the second I poured this guy in to the martini glass (who do I think I am?) I was a bit conflicted. The combination of the juice with the bourbon makes for an amazingly drinkable cocktail. But then I saw the word “appletini” pop into my  brain and I wanted to pour this over my head. Next time, I’m more likely to skip the martini glass and drink this sucker over ice or in a whiskey glass, but nevertheless, the recipe is spot on. Enjoy it, just don’t call it a damn “appletini”.

The Orchard

2 1/2 oz Bourbon

2 1/2 oz Fresh Apple Juice (recipe below) – please do not use Motts!

Mix the two ingredients in a cocktail shaker with ice and strain into your glass. Garnish with lemon and a cinnamon stick if you’fancy!

Fresh Apple Juice:

3 Apples (I used golden delicious for the color)

Juice of 1 Lemon

2 tbsp honey

1 1/3 cup of water

In a food processor, blend all of the ingredients until smooth. Strain through a fine mesh strainer and store chilled for later use.

One comment

  1. […] Last year I experimented a ton with apples for fall-centric cocktail making. I was never a big fan of apples growing up, but since moving to New York, I’ve gladly started to drink the Kool-Aid. Shit, 6 year old me would have had his mind blown if he walked his way through a New York farmers market in the Fall. You are telling me there is more to this than just ‘red’ and ‘green’? But maybe it’s better I actually discovered the reality of the apple world much later in life. After all, I can’t imagine 6 year old me would have thought to be pairing fresh apple juice with bourbon… […]



Leave a Reply

