h1

Who wants a bottle of my mason jar bourbon?

January 8, 2013

photo(119)

When I first began my bourbon lab experiments, it was with pretty moderate expectations. Despite the fact that I thought it was a pretty cool nerdy method to calculate the surface area to volume ratio of a typical bourbon barrel and to then replicate that ratio with charred oak chips in a mason jar filled with moonshine, I really had no idea how it would turn out. I tasted here and there and was intrigued by how quickly the color changed from crystal clear to a golden amber but it wasn’t entirely clear to me how long I should let it “age”. That was until our New Years Eve plans began to take shape and a beach bonfire in the middle of winter shouted for some warming liquor.

So after just two months of “aging”, I strained and filtered (through coffee filters) my young bourbon, bottled it back in the mason jar and headed east for NYE. You probably won’t be shocked to hear that I was sort of blown away by how good this came out. For one, it would be really weird of me to set up the story and then tell you it sucked. But maybe most importantly, the process while interesting in its small scale capacity truly replicates almost all of the necessary components of proper aging. Being a bit on the young side, my bourbon still has a lot of the corn-based moonshine character, but without the awful bite of the un-aged liquor. It is smooth, flavorful, and a heck of a lot better than I had expected.

So like any good scientist, I’m going back into the lab to run more experiments. I plan on tinkering with the SA/V ratio and of course the aging length but either way there is a lot of bourbon coming your way. And what better way to start off 2013 with the opportunity to get your hands on your very own bottle! If you are interested, fill out the form below and I’ll be sure to set up a mason jar with your name on it! I’ll email you back with a bit more details once you sign up.  Happy New Year everyone (once again) and here’s to an amazing 2013!

Leave a Reply

