h1

Cow Thieves Customization

April 15, 2013

beercaps

Bottling day at the Cow Thieves Brewery has become quite the impressive feat of efficiency. My guess is we’ve got our system down to a rate of around 10 bottles a minute for filling and 20 bottles a minute for capping without making much of a mess at all. Of course I say “much of a mess” because I tend to lose focus at least once per batch, overfilling a bottle or two here and there. But maybe this is just my sub-conscious way of screwing up so we have some product to try. And try we did…

As excited as I was to make a porter, I was a bit nervous about how it would turn out. It was like nothing we had tried making before and I’ve had a lot of not so delicious porters. Add that to the somewhat out of seasonality (pointed out so nicely by Nobler Dan on Facebook), it wasn’t clear if we’d be calling this one a success. But if the taste profile before bottling is any indication of how this one turned out, we are all in for a treat. Amazing flavors, great balance, and even a lightness that I wasn’t expecting has got this brew in the early lead for best ever by the Cow Thieves crew. We tried our pale ale as well, and the Sorachi Ace hops really shine through; so pumped to have found them.

But the hit of the day was by far the use of our custom caps from the team over at BottleMark. I bought these suckers a long time ago but we finally had the batch to use them. They look so amazing on the bottle and I’m excited to bring our beer making skills to the next level. Considering how easy and cost-effective these guys make custom caps, I can see myself getting pretty carried away with this moving forward. Thinking there needs to be a reader generated cap in the near future…any takers?

 

Leave a Reply

