h1

Coffee and Gin, Batman and Robin

May 10, 2013

coffee
I normally find these things kind of idiotic but this one definitely resonates. After a quick 52 hour trip to Israel this week, I’m back in town and it’s going to be coffee and alcohol in a Batman and Robin like adventure this weekend. For now, I’m giving the Batman role to coffee…KAPOW!

And while there are many suitable leads to play the role of Robin, I’m on a serious gin kick these days, as there is nothing quite like a refreshing gin cocktail to ring in the warm weather. And I’m clearly not the only one who feels this way. Check out New York’s Grub Street, Spring Drinking guide to Gin and Tonics. You’ll remember my re-hash of our experience at Cata which definitely sums up the Spanish resurgence but I have a number of these other options on my radar to check out the latest and greatest in NYC. Most recently, we hit up Alder and I tried the Zereshk Is History and loved it.

The point is, the gin and tonic we all grew accustomed to is only the starting point; a most often shitty starting point at that. So much can be done with subtle and/or bold flavor profiles to highlight the wonderful herbaciousness in gin. But then again, if you find yourself a product as good as Tuthilltown’s you might choose to drink that sucker straight on its own. At least that’s what I do…

gin

Using a blend of wheat and apples to make their base neutral spirit, the Half Moon Orchard Gin is hands down my favorite product in the category right now. The apple (distilled from, not flavored) adds such a nice smoothness that the herbs and botanicals shine through without being overwhelming. Last night I slowly sipped away at a glass with just a tiny lemon wedge and I couldn’t stop being amazed. So delicious.

But regardless of how you’ll enjoy it, it’s time to get on the gin train…Check out a few of my older gin posts here, and enjoy the beautiful (let’s hope so) weekend!

Leave a Reply

